Title Background

Yearbook of Langland Studies

Yearbook of Langland Studies

The Yearbook of Langland Studies is the sole journal devoted to Piers Plowman and associated works. Since 1987, YLS has significantly shaped the expanding critical attention to the poem. Each volume — including essays, notes and interviews, reviews, and an annual annotated bibliography — offers access to the most significant and up-to-date scholarship on the poem and its literary, historical, codicological, and critical contexts. YLS welcomes articles and notes that deal with Piers Plowman and related poetry and prose in the traditions of didactic and allegorical alliterative writing, as well as with the historical, religious, intellectual, and codicological contexts of these works. The ISSN is 0890-2917.

The editors are Alastair Bennett, Royal Holloway, University of London; Katharine Breen, Northwestern University; and Eric Weiskott, Boston College. Submissions, which should follow the style sheet, should be sent as attachments to yls.submissions@gmail.com. Books for review should be sent to any of the editors. Please do not hesitate to contact the editors with questions if you are considering a submission.

Subscription Information

Individuals may subscribe to YLS by joining the International Piers Plowman Society; please see the Membership page for details. Institutions should contact Brepols. Note that the institutional subscriptions to YLS provided by Brepols now include access to an electronic version of the journal, including back volumes; please encourage your home institution to subscribe and choose the e-journal option if they have not already done so. Hardcopies of volumes 1-19 are also available from Medieval Institute Publications. The annual annotated bibliography is freely available, and fully searchable, on this site.

Call for Papers

New submission guidelines and deadlines will be posted soon. Submissions should be sent to yls.submissions@gmail.com.

Editorial Board

Michael Calabrese, California State University, Los Angeles

Andrew Cole, Princeton University

Rita Copeland, University of Pennsylvania

Isabel Davis, Birkbeck, University of London

Andrew Galloway, Cornell University

Alexandra Gillespie, University of Toronto

Simon Horobin, Magdalen College, University of Oxford

Traugott Lawler, Emeritus, Yale University

Jill Mann, University of Notre Dame and Girton College, University of Cambridge

Linne R. Mooney, University of York

Ad Putter, University of Bristol

Elizabeth Robertson, University of Glasgow

Wendy Scase, University of Birmingham

Vance Smith, Princeton University

Thorlac Turville-Petre, Emeritus, University of Nottingham

Nicholas Watson, Harvard University

Nicolette Zeeman, King’s College, University of Cambridge